When you delete a file on your computer, it is put into
the Recycle Bin. Even a computing beginner can recover
the deleted file from the Recycle Bin, so most users empty
the recycle bin regularly or delete the file directly,
bypassing the Recycle Bin.
As you may or may not know, Windows doesn’t actually
delete a file when you choose the Windows delete command.
The file remains on your hard disk and Windows only removes
the entry to it from the FAT (File Allocation Table) so
that the system doesn’t see the file. But with the
right tool (such as Super Undelete), these files can be
found and recovered again as long as they haven’t
been overwritten by new data yet.
Super Shredder ensures that files you delete via Shredder
can’t be recovered by hackers. The tool uses a method
developed by the US Department of Defense to ensure that
files are permanently removed from your hard disk. This
is done by overwriting the files with redundant data, destroying
any previous data that was there before.
How to Use
In the Super Utilities startup screen switch to the category
Privacy Protector and click on "Super Shredder" to
launch the program.
Deleting Files or Folders
After the launch of the module a wizard is loaded. On
the initial screen it queries whether to delete individual
Files or a whole Folder.
Files: If you choose this option, in the next step you
are presented with an empty list to which you can add
files for deletion.
Folders: If you choose this option you can select a
folder for deletion in the next step. The folder will
be deleted with all contents and subdirectories.
Make your choice and click Next to continue.
You can add files to the destruction process by clicking
the "Add" button and choosing them in the emerging
dialog. After you have added all files, press "Next" to
Enter the complete path of the folder to be deleted
in the text box Folder or, alternatively, click the button
Select in order to choose the folder from a tree structure.
Click on "Next" to confirm continue.
Next you have to select the way Shredder should delete
the files. To do this, choose one of the following two
options in the Deletion method section.
Quick delete: Overwrites the files
with a single character. After being deleted, the files
no longer contain the original data; instead they contain
a single character repeated over and over.
Secure delete: Deletes the files using
a method described in the US regulation DoD 5220.22-M.
The file is deleted by overwriting it many times with
alternating bit patterns.
Choose how often to repeat the deletion by entering
a number in the Repeat the delete operation field.
Click "Next" to begin the deletion process.